Skip to content
English
  • There are no suggestions because the search field is empty.

Insert and manage a discussion board

A discussion allows learners to contribute responses to a question you've set up. Both you and the learners can view all submissions, fostering idea-sharing and enhancing engagement.

Table of contents

Discussion boards can be integrated into a course or an assessment. 💡 Adding a discussion board increases the "Social Learning" gauge.

Insert a discussion board in a course with AI sparkle_violet

To add a discussion board with the AI Assistant, follow these steps:

  1. Make sure you have completed the AI Assistant configuration.
  2. Click "+" to open the content toolbar.
  3. Select "Social" socialbleu then choose "Discussion" quote_blue sparkle_violet
  4. Click "Create with AI".
  5. You have two options:

    1. Enter a topic freely: type the topic you want.

    2. Or click "Use the training plan": choose a topic generated automatically from the training plan.

  6. Select the "Generate" button.

A question, an explanation title and an additional explanation will be generated automatically.

Manually insert a discussion board in a course or an assessment

To manually insert a discussion board, follow these steps:

  1. Click on "Add".
  2. In the content toolbar, select "Social socialbleu", then choose "Discussion quote_blue".
  3. Enter your question in the "Question" field.
  4. Click on the "light bulblight-bulb" icon to add an additional explanation.

The explanation will appear after the learner submits their response.

View the discussion board from the learner's perspective

Learners can submit their contribution by entering text and optionally attaching a photo. After clicking "Share", they can view other learners' contributions. They can also react to posts using a "thumbs up thumbs up-1", and the post with the most reactions is labeled as the "Top contribution". Learners can also comment on contributions to encourage discussion.

discusssion__board
Click on the image to open it in a new tab

Configure the discussion board

You can set two options on the discussion board.

  • "Allow access to the discussion board": by enabling this option, learners can retrieve the URL of the discussion board to view it at any time and continue contributing if they wish.

All learners can view the discussion wall immediately after adding their contribution. However, if the above option is not activated, they will not be able to return to it.

  • "Open the discussion board as a course author": in this section, you can retrieve the access link to the discussion board as an author.

View and share contributions

Once learners have submitted their contributions, you can view them by accessing the discussion link available in the settings.

To share these contributions with other collaborators or learners, simply share the discussion URL.

Moderate contributions

To delete a contribution, follow these steps:

  1. Open the discussion link.
  2. Hover over the contribution you wish to delete.
  3. Click on the erase icon erase at the top right of the contribution.
  4. Select the "Delete contribution" button.

moderate_contribution_en

Frequently asked questions

How can I export a discussion board?
The export function for discussions is not currently available.

Who can view or access the discussion board?

 All learners who have access to the course can view and access the discussion.

Can the discussion be made mandatory?

No, it is currently not possible to require participation in the discussion. Learners can choose whether or not to contribute. If you want to collect data from learners with a mandatory question, it’s better to use a form.

Can notifications be activated for each new post on the discussion board? 

No, it is currently not possible to activate notifications for each new contribution.

What do the first learners see if no one has contributed yet?

The first learners will only see the question posted, without any contributions visible.

Can a learner delete their own post in a discussion board?

No, learners cannot delete their own contributions. Only an author can moderate and remove submissions in a discussion.

How can contributions be viewed if the training is accessed only via an LMS?

At the moment, contributions can only be viewed through the wall’s direct URL, which can be found in its settings.
Learners can view responses in two ways:

  • by using the direct link to the wall,

  • or by re-entering the training through the LMS to see the updates.

We recommend saving the wall URL (e.g., as a favorite or sharing it in the LMS) for quick access.

Can contributions be made anonymous?

No, contributions on a wall cannot be anonymous at this time.