Distribute by assigning learners
Assignment allows you to grant named access to an activity (course, assessment, training path, or Coach Expert) to one or more learners. Only learners who have been explicitly assigned can access the activity.
When an activity is assigned, the selected learners receive an email inviting them to complete the training. This method is particularly useful when you want to precisely control access and track learners' progress directly from Teach Up.
Table of contents
This feature is available for Platform subscription holders.
Interested in assigning via the API? See this article.
Assign a learner
Two assignment methods are available.
Please note that in order to assign a learner, they must first be added to the list in the “Learners” tab.
Assign from the learners list
To assign learners from the "Learners" tab, follow these steps:
-
Go to the "Learners
" tab.
-
Click the "Select" button located under the search bar and choose the learners to assign.
-
Click on "Assign activities
".
-
A window opens, allowing you to search for the activities to assign to the selected learners.
Note: If you have created learner groups, you can sort by "Group" and select all learners in that group.
-
Click "Assign".
Your learners receive an email informing them that you have assigned them one or more activities.
If you assign several activities in a single action, only one notification email is sent to the learner, grouping all the newly granted accesses.
To preview what this email looks like, please refer to this article.
Click on the image to open it in a new tab.
Assign from the "Distribute" tab
To assign learners from your course, assessment, training path or Coach Expert, follow these steps:
-
Go to the activity you wish to assign (the procedure is the same for a course, an assessment, a training path or a Coach Expert).
-
Click on the "4. Distribute
" tab in your activity.
-
Select "Assignments".
-
Click on "+ Assign" to choose the learners who should complete this activity.
Note: If you have created learner groups, you can sort by "Group" and select all learners in that group.
-
Click "Assign".
These learners then receive an email informing them that you have given them access to an activity to complete. To preview what this email looks like, please refer to this article.
Click on the image to open it in a new tab.
Remove one or more assignments
To remove an assignment for one or more of your learners, follow these steps:
- Go to the "Distribute
" tab in your activity under the "Assignments" section.
- Click on the options for the relevant learner and select "Remove the assignment".
The learner whose assignment has been removed does not receive a notification. In their learner space:
- if they hadn't started the activity, it is removed from their space;
- if they had already started it, it stays displayed as history, but they can no longer access it: if they try to open it, they see the error message "Your administrator has not granted you access to this page."
Frequently Asked Questions
Can a learner access their training through a direct link even if the training has been assigned?
Yes, they can log in. Assigning the training provides the learner with prioritized access, regardless of the link settings.
What happens if a learner forwards the assignment email to a colleague?
The colleague will not be able to access the activity. Access is secure and restricted to assigned learners only.
Are learners notified when an assignment is removed?
No, learners do not receive a notification when an assignment is removed. However, if they attempt to access the activity, an error message will be displayed: "Your administrator has not granted you access to this page."
How to resend an assignment email?
To resend an assignment email, follow these steps:
- Go to the activity in question (course, assessment, training path or Coach Expert).
- Click on the "4. Distribute" tab in your activity.
- Select the "Assignments" option.
- Next to the learner's name, click on the three dots "...".
- Choose "Resend the assignment email".
-gif-1.gif?width=670&height=374&name=chrome-capture-2025-3-7%20(1)-gif-1.gif)
Is it possible to disable the assignment emails sent to learners when they are assigned to an activity?
No, it is currently not possible to disable the assignment emails sent to learners. If you would like this feature to evolve, feel free to submit a request to our support team.
Can I schedule an assignment for a later date?
No, not from Teach Up: the assignment is made, and the assignment email sent, as soon as you click "Assign". To assign a learner on a specific date, automate the assignment with the public API (POST /api/v1/assignments): your tool sends the request at the right time, and the learner then receives the usual assignment email.
Can I set an end date for access to a course or an assessment?
No. On the chosen date, remove the assignment (see Remove one or more assignments): the learner no longer has access to the activity. You can also automate this with the API (DELETE /api/v1/assignments). In a training path, however, each section or step can have an "Until…" access condition: see Create a training path.