The different roles on Teach Up
On Teach Up, several roles are available, each determining what the user can do on the platform. This guide will help you understand the different roles, their permissions, and their hierarchy to maximize the use of Teach Up.
Table of contents
- Administrator
- Department Manager
- Owner
- Author
- Summary of Roles and Access
- Frequently Asked Questions
Administrator
The Administrator is the person who has all the rights on the platform. This role has full access to all features and can perform any action.
What they can do:
- All actions of Department Managers, Owners, and Authors (detailed below).
- Create, rename and delete departments: manage the organizational structure of the platform.
- Add and manage users on the Teach Up design space: Administrators, Authors, Department Managers, and Owners.
- Add and manage learners and create groups (feature available with the Platform subscription).
- Access the subscription management tab: oversee and modify subscriptions.
- Delete participations from the dashboard of all activities available in the studio.
Department Manager
The department manager is an author with additional rights to manage a specific department.
What they can do:
- All actions of an author.
- Add authors and assign them to their departments from the "Authors" tab ("Assigned departments" menu). They cannot change their role.
- Manage content: oversee and edit the content of their department.
- Delete participations from the dashboard of all activities available in their department(s).
- Add learners from the "Learners" tab (Platform subscription). Without the "Learner departments" option, they see all the learners in the account.
- Assign learners to existing groups with "Select groups", one at a time or several at once, and remove a learner from a group.
They cannot create, edit or delete learner groups, nor create, rename or delete departments: only administrators can. They don't have access to the "Departments" tab.
Owner
The owner is an author with special rights for a specific activity.
What they can do:
- All actions of an Author.
- Make an activity private: protect access to a specific activity.
- Receive notifications: be informed when an administrator accesses their activity when it is in private mode.
- Moderate a contribution wall: control interactions in their courses.
- Delete participations from the dashboard of all activities they own.
Author
The author is responsible for creating and managing content. Their permissions can be restricted to certain departments.
What they can do:
- Create and edit content: manage courses and activities in the departments they are assigned to.
- Assign activities: distribute activities to learners from the "distribute" tab of each of their activities.
Summary of Roles and Access
| Role (in hierarchical order) | Created by | Possible Actions |
|---|---|---|
| Administrator | An Administrator | - Create, rename and delete departments - Add Administrators, Authors, Department Managers, Owners - Access the subscription management tab - Create learner groups (Platform subscription) + All actions of Department Managers, Owners, and Authors |
| Department Manager | An Administrator | - Add authors and assign them to their departments - Add learners (Platform subscription) - Assign learners to existing groups (Platform subscription) - Delete learner results on activities in their department + All actions of an Author |
| Owner | An Administrator or a Department Manager | - Make an activity private - Receive notifications when an administrator accesses it - Delete learner results on the activities they own - Moderate a contribution wall in their courses + All actions of an Author |
| Author | An Administrator or a Department Manager | - Create and edit Teach Up activities in their department(s) - Assign activities from the "distribute" tab of those activities |
Frequently Asked Questions
How to change the owner of an activity?
The owner of an activity is by default the creator of the activity. To change it:
- Select the three dots next to the concerned activity.
- Click on "Change owner."
Why does an activity not have an owner?
There are two possibilities:
- The author has changed departments, and the activity no longer belongs to that department, resulting in the loss of ownership.
- The author has been deleted from the Teach Up account.
What happens if I delete an author?
Deleting an author does not affect existing activities. They will remain in the studio but without an assigned owner.
Is there a role for a manager/administrator of a specific course to distribute and monitor training without design access?
Currently, this type of role does not exist on Teach Up.
Can a department manager add learners or manage groups?
They can add learners from the "Learners" tab, with the "New" button (Platform subscription). They can also assign learners to existing groups with "Select groups", one at a time or several at once, and remove a learner from a group. However, they cannot create, edit or delete groups: only administrators have the "Create a group" button. See Manage learners and groups.
How can I remove private mode from a course if I'm an administrator but not its owner?
An administrator can change the accessibility of a private course, even if they're not its owner:
- In the studio, open the course.
- The "Private accessibility" window appears: click "Open anyway". The owner is notified of this by email.
- Under "Accessibility", click "Private : Only visible to you and administrators". It changes to "Public : Visible to the team."
- Click "Back to my studio" to save. If you reload the page or close the tab without using this button, the change isn't kept.
You can use the same steps to make a public course private.