Skip to content
English
  • There are no suggestions because the search field is empty.

Modify a course, an assessment, or training path after distribution

You can update your courses, evaluations, and training paths in Teach Up, even if they are already being distributed.

Summary

Editing courses and assessments

When you edit a course or assessment after it has been distributed, there are three potential scenarios for learners:

Case 1: The learner has not started the course or assessment
The learner will follow the updated version of the course or assessment and will see all the changes made by the creator.

Case 2: The learner has already started the course or assessment
The changes will be visible in real time for the learner if they involve:

  • Editing existing content (e.g., correcting a typo in a text)
  • Editing the wording of an existing question (e.g., rephrasing the question)
  • Editing the end screen

The changes will not be visible in real time if they involve:

  • Adding new content
  • Modifying learning activities for existing content
  • Adding or removing a question
  • Modifying learning activities related to a question
  • Deleting content
  • Activating or deactivating hyper-memorization on a question

In this case, the learner will finish the course in its original version.

To ensure that all the changes are visible to the learner, you must delete their results. They will then need to restart the course or evaluation from the beginning.

Testing your course yourself while logged in as a learner? The same applies to you. Use the "Preview" button instead, which always shows the latest version (see I don't see my changes when I test my course).

Note: In the case of SCORM Offline distribution, you will need to re-export the SCORM package and re-import it into your LMS.


Case 3: The learner has already completed the course or assessment
They will only see the new content if they restart the course or assessment from the beginning.

To allow the learner to start over, you need to either delete their results or activate the “Start over” option on the final page of the course or evaluation.

Editing a training path after distribution

When you update or add steps to a training path, Teach Up integrates the changes in real time. Editing a training path creates three potential scenarios for learners:


Case 1: The learner has not started the training path

The learner will experience the training path with the updated changes.


Case 2: The learner has already started the training path

  • If a step is added to the training path, the learner will see it in real time.
  • If a step is removed from the training path, it will disappear from the learner’s view in real time, unless they are currently viewing that step. If the removed step was part of the overall mastery calculation for the training path, the learner’s mastery level will be affected. The time the learner spent on that step will be included in the total time spent, but not in the time for the last attempt.
  • If a step is modified, the learner will see the new version, unless they are currently viewing that step when the modification occurs.

Note: If the changes in the training path involve a Teach Up module or evaluation, refer to the list above.


Case 3: The learner has completed the training path

  • If a step is removed from the training path, there will be no impact on the learner. The time spent on the removed step will still be included in the total time spent on the training path.
  • If a step is added, the previously completed training path will no longer be considered fully completed. The new steps will appear as “to do” in the training path. The dashboard will reflect the new completion status, accounting for the added steps.

If the option to download completion certificates is enabled, it’s possible that the learner, who had previously completed the training path, may have downloaded a completion certificate before the modifications were made. This certificate validates the completion of the version of the training path the learner had completed.


If your training is distributed via SCORM Online,
the impact on the learner depends on your LMS. If you want the learner to see the updated version, we recommend resetting their progress in the LMS.

Note: For SCORM Offline distribution, it is necessary to re-export the SCORM package and re-import it into your LMS.

Frequently Asked Questions

What happens when a module is replaced or edited in a learning path after a learner has already completed it?

If a module is modified after a learner has completed the learning path:

  • The learner’s progress remains at 100%.
    The system does not automatically reset their completion status, even if the module content changes.

  • New content is not automatically marked as unseen.
    The learner will only see the updated content (new activities, questions, chapters, etc.) if they restart the module from the beginning or retake the assessment.